Art Journal Page – Touches the Sea

IMG_3682

This art journal page is inspired by the fantastic glossy magazine page sent to me in Happy Mail by Linda Bell. (Thanks Linda). The sailor is just magnificent and is a print of a David Hockney painting titled Matelot Kevin Druez 2. I love it!

This is the first time I’ve incorporated a magazine page in this way painting over the top to blend the edges and make the page flow from printed to painted.

Layout 1

You can watch my start to finish process by clicking the YouTube link above.

mike

3 thoughts on “Art Journal Page – Touches the Sea

  1. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    You’ve outdone yourself again, Mike. I have tried that technique, of embedding a magazine or other print image in a page by painting over it, a few times myself but never remotely with this degree of success. Great choice of image too.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

