Working with a white space itch.

IMG_3848Typically for me an art journal page would have every square inch covered in either paper, paint or ink. It took me a while to recognise what “my style” of art journaling looked like and it took me a while to see the patterns and styles of the page I’ve created as my own rather than a facsimile of someone else’s.

Once that settled into my consciousness, I started to push those styles and started stepping back outside my newly found comfort zone and explore other styles and techniques that I worked hard to recognise as not my own. Does that make sense? I suppose what I’m trying to say is, I’ve found me, now I want to play at being someone else for a while!

To aid me in my quest beyond my zone of comfort, I’ve begun to play with the idea of white space. White space can be daunting, it can fill some with terror and in others they see a wall that they can’t climb. I was like that, but I began to see that white space can be used in just the same way as a block of colour or texture. White space can be used to aid a layout or composition.

In the page I’ve created above. I’ve allowed the white space to remain untouched, the temptation is to fill up the white space but I have shown restraint and deliberately fought against my instinct to fill up what is empty! Which gave me the idea to use the quote.

There is no process video for this page as I wanted to scratch this itch without the camera rolling. Plus I wanted an excuse to try using the new Distress Crayons by Tim Holtz.

IMG_3855

It’s a simple page, white gessoed first then it was just a case of adding the crayon colour to the page and smudging and blending the pigment with my finger. The black outline and quote text was achieved by using a standard black rollerball pen that can be picked up anywhere for pennies.

There is something satisfying about leaving a void on your page…but the itch to fill it is still there, scratching at the back of my eyeballs like an addiction. More pages with white space to follow!

mike

 

14 thoughts on “Working with a white space itch.

  1. Faye Touve says:

    Love the page and the quote. Alice Roosevelt Longworth is one of the ladies I will be featuring in my new journal! Imagine my surprise to see that you had chosen a quote from her for your page!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chuck Kolb says:

    White space may breed fear or feelings of being incomplete. Yet it has its role to highlight, emphasize, contrast as does white ink or paint. With creativity comes boldness also. You got it. Full steam ahead. Your fans are eager.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ephemeral gecko says:

    great post. I’m really resistant to white space in my art, I get a compulsion to fill every last bit. If I block areas out to make space, my monkey mind makes me fill them back in again. You’ve reminded me it’s something I could try to do more! Thank you 🙂

    Like

  4. jamayruffo says:

    I like it. It looks very clean and very lovely. Congrats on fighting the urge to fill the space. I also like how you described how it takes a while to figure out what is your own personal style vs. facsimile versions of others’ styles. That is so true. I have been finally just tapping the surface of figuring out my style recently. And I know it’s only the beginning. Still experimenting, still learning and it never gets old 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

