Dictionary Art – Weekend Roundup

IMG_3446

I decided to have a lazy Sunday this weekend and so dusted off my large dictionary art journal. Using just Distress Ink Markers and Derwent Inktense pencils and a water brush.  I created this page from the “D” section. The Dictionary Art Journalers FB page is now doing weekly letter prompts and this is the one for WK6. I also realised that I hadn’t posted a page I did the previous week for WK5 which is in the “W” section, so you have a double whammy today! The wasp is done with just a black & white outliner pen and Derwent Inktense pencils and a water brush.

I don’t know why but I find illustrating these pages so relaxing and the feelings I get while creating them are so different to doing an art journal page with textures and layers.

I guess it’s because these are all one layer that they’re so easy and fun to create!

mike

 

5 thoughts on “Dictionary Art – Weekend Roundup

  1. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    These are fantastic! I can relate to what you write about feeling relaxed when working in this book. I am the same way when working in my altered book. I think for me it is because I know that art is only ever really going to be seen by me and also because I don’t face that blank page issue because there is already text on the page. There is also the fact that the book cost me a mere dollar so I can play in it and not worry about wasting precious paper.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Mike says:

      The text background does give you certain freedom to splash the paint on without worrying about white space etc..but I like the format and the challenge of working around the word you’re using too..sometimes it can be in a really fun place!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

