Creating a Circular Art Journal

From time to time I watch a YouTube channel that has an idea in it or a project that just fires my imagination. It’s what we all hope for, that someone will be inspired enough to recreate or make their own version of what we’ve done. It’s our reason for spending hours filming and editing.

Recently I watched a video by a lady called Sarah Trumpp  (YouTube link here) and in it she was using a circular art journal. Hers folded in the middle, so semi-circular when closed, but when open was a full 12 ” in diameter. I was instantly blown away. I know, it doesn’t take much for me! But a round journal! How cool is that? Just the shape alone is enough to inspire journal pages. I could see endless possibilities in a circle journal…but where did she buy it? I watched a few more of her videos to discover that she’d made the journal herself, so it’s not an off the shelf product!

So, this means that if I want one, I have to make one myself! I sent Sarah a message asking whether I could steal her idea and she graciously messaged back saying she’d be delighted!

So..I made one for myself! Here’s the process!

IMG_3197

I love it and I can’t wait to get started on some pages, but first, I need to decorate the covers a little bit more before I’ll allow myself to journal inside! I hope you feel inspired to make your own!

mike

2 thoughts on “Creating a Circular Art Journal

  1. Pauline Kluske says:

    I love it when new ideas come out. So simple and you think ‘why didn’t I think of that?’. First there was Dylusions with a square journal and now a round one by Sarah. Brilliant! Thank you so much Mike for bringing this smart ladies ideas to our attention. xx

    Like

I'd love to read your comments...

