#4,5 & 6/100 – Artworks

eureka

It’s been a while since I sat down and did any whimsical male face practice for the #100 Artworks challenge. I guess I’ve been experiencing an internal struggle with my own drawing style. I have a clear idea in my head of what I want, I just don’t know how to express it through the motion of my hands and fingers.

I’ve doodled endlessly over the past few months trying to develop a particular style, each and every version I have rejected – crumpling up doodles and sketches and tossing them into the trash.

I know deep down in my heart that I can do this, I refuse to accept the idea that I can’t. Art is about developing a style you’re comfortable with, one that makes you happy and confident enough to say to the world, or at least a loved one “look what I did”.

I’ve gone through many evenings staring at a blank piece of paper, I’ve doodled and twiddled and zentangled to my hearts content, but no faces have emerged that didn’t look like they’d come from the imagination of Steven King. Zombies and monsters I can do, they’re easy. Whimsical male faces…not so easy!

But last night…and here’s the Eureka moment for me…out of the blue, my fingers doodled a face. I sat and stared at it. It was right. It was just what I had been waiting for to flow from my pencil. So I did it again and again and again and guess what…more faces emerged, all different, but all in the same style, the style I really hoped I could do.

So this morning I sat with a watercolour pad and put pencil to paper and drew, then painted 3 faces, one after the other.

Now that wasn’t so hard was it!

7 thoughts on “#4,5 & 6/100 – Artworks

  1. Barbara Every says:

    Thanks for sharing. As a newbie who needs to practice I have decided not to throw anything away but tear it up and use a small piece in collage. I can then remember the angst.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Peggy Sparling in S.C. says:

    Mike you do good no matter what. I truly enjoy your videos and have learned a few things from you. I can’t draw stick people, do I practice, no. Don’t have the patience. I do several different things, but by no means a professional. I do it for me! Keep up the good work and keep us informed. Peggy in S.C. But originally from IL.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    These are great, Mike! I really like them.

    Finding your own style is hard. I find I have a few styles depending on the type of thing I’m working on but I definitely lean more towards “illustration” type art than the more painterly, fine art side of the spectrum. I think you know you’ve found your own style when you can pick up the materials and create something you intended without much thinking about it. It’s muscle memory and comfortable familiarity.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

