Masquerade – Mixed Media Project

LEADIMGBeing inspired after a workshop is a great thing, unless you can’t sleep because yo have so many ideas buzzing around your head. This is exactly what I felt like after the Finnabair workshop I attended recently.

I had the image of a Venetian mask in my head created “Finnabair” style. As you can see from the image above, I finally managed to scratch my creative itch!

I have filmed the whole thing from start to finish, so don’t panic if you’re a fan of my start to finish films, you can hop straight down and watch the whole thing!

For those who prefer to see the pictures read on!

Mask BlankI started my project using a paper mache Zorro mask from the Creativ Company and painted it with IndigoBlu black Gee-So Good (Gesso). I gave it a couple of coats to ensure that it had a very good coverage.

geesso-good-gesso-black-120ml-p265-154_imageOnce it had been thoroughly dried using my heat gun, I started to glue my “junk drawer” items to the mask using a hot glue gun.

IMG_3826IMG_3828IMG_3827 Once the glue had cooled and I had ensured that all the items were firmly stuck down and wouldn’t drop off. I painted the whole thing with two coats of the same IndigoBlu black gesso making sure I got into all the nooks and crannies.

IMG_3830IMG_3829 IMG_3831I then gave the whole thing a good blast with my heat tool. Remember I used a hot glue gun to stick my junk bits down, so I didn’t hold the heat gun too close otherwise the glue would have melted again and my junk bits would have slid off! Once everything was dry and cool. I took three metallic acrylic paints from IndigoBlu, namely:

indigoblu-english-cottage-artists-acrylic-paint-aladdin-metallic-60ml-p1105-1074_image indigoblu-english-cottage-artists-acrylic-paint-emerald-city-metallic-60ml-p1101-1063_image indigoblu-english-cottage-artists-acrylic-paint-sleeping-beauty-metallic-60ml-p1070-1051_imageAdded about a teaspoon of each paint with double the amount of water into a spritzer bottle. One for each, not all together as that would just make a mess!

I then spritzed each colour of paint over the mask and dried with the heat gun between each colour.

IMG_3832 IMG_3833 IMG_3834Under my studio lights the purple metallic “Aladdin” looks more magenta than purple. In real life it’s more like the hue in the paint pot photo above. Again the essential heat gun is used to ensure that the paint is thoroughly dry before moving on to the next step. Thankfully, the paint is acrylic so dries very quickly.

Our final step is to add the gold and silver hues, so once again I’ve used IndigoBlu gold and silver called:

indigoblu-english-cottage-artists-acrylic-paint-metallic-silver-60ml-p882-769_imageVodka Martini (above) & Goldfinger (below)

Using a dry brush (approx 0.5 of an inch in size) I dry brushed the silver first, only very lightly on the areas that will reflect light, such as the bridge of the nose and the eye ridges, then lightly dry brushed the acrylic gold over everything else.

IMG_3836IMG_3835IMG_3837

So, here’s my process video, as always I hope you enjoy it! Remember all my resources are listed above and talked about in the video.

Remember if  you like the video, please give it a”thumbs up” and “subscribe” to my YouTube channel to be kept updated for more videos like this one. If you have any questions or comments, please leave them in the box below.

Have a creative day!

Mike

3 thoughts on “Masquerade – Mixed Media Project

I'd love to read your comments...

