Art Tag – May

main

The start of May came and went and I didn’t even realise! It’s already May 4th (Star Wars Day) as I write this and I seem to have walked into a new month in a daze. I guess it’s called being ultra busy!

So as it’s a new month we have a new Art Tag from Time Holtz. This month he’s feeling all nostalgic! he says on his tag blog post:

“there are certain things that capture a sense of nostalgia, and for me this month’s tag is certainly one of them.”

For me, the past isn’t always a pleasant country to visit. I for one don’t look back with fond memories as some do, for me the past is behind me and I look forward to today and tomorrow. Things are better now than they ever have been.

IMG_3819

I know my choice of picture for my tag will not suit everyone, some will not understand my reason for using the image that I have. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I create for me, but share in the hope that someone else will appreciate what I’ve created and take some inspiration from it. I don’t imagine for one minute I’m going to please everyone, everytime.

The photobooth images we’re taken in 1953, in Edmonton, Canada. It was taken at a time when the young couple in the photo could have been arrested and imprisoned just for a sharing a simple token of their affection. As I said earlier, the past wasn’t always a golden age!

Since the invention of the first coin operated photo-booth in 1883, just imagine how many kisses have been stolen behind that curtain!

IMG_3811 IMG_3812 IMG_3813 IMG_3814 IMG_3815

So once again, I’m sharing my creative process on video. My hope is that you find something in it of use.

Remember if you like the video, please give it a”thumbs up” and “subscribe” to my YouTube channel.

Have a creative day!

5 thoughts on “Art Tag – May

  1. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    I really enjoyed watching your process video, Mike. You’ve got a really easy voice to listen to and – although I don’t create what you do – I learned something of the approach to effective layering. I really love the photo you chose to comply with the theme. For me, nostalgia can be comforting but it can also negate the truth about the past. The past wasn’t all sunshine and lollipops. As well as being a charming image of a tender moment, your chosen image is also a reminder that the past was a terrible place for some people. As someone passionate about equal rights, it’s important to look to the past to see how far we’ve come but it’s even more important to see his far we still have to go. Anyway, I really love how your tag turned out. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike says:

      Thanks Laura, although it may appear to some that I’m making a political statement with my choice of image. I’m not. I just think that the more images we see in everyday life of couples, made up of whatever gender, the more common place and ordinary it becomes. One day the sight of two men or two women kissing or holding hands will go un-noticed and un-commented on. That’s when true equality starts!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (PA Pict) says:

        I could not agree more. My hope is that it will happen with each generation. My kids, for example, have never even questioned the idea that people should marry whoever they love regardless of gender, religion, race, whatever. For what it’s worth, I didn’t view your tag as political in any way. It just incorporated an image of a lovely moment in two people’s lives. I was more replying to your mention of the image’s context in your video.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mike says:

        I know Laura, I didn’t think for one minute you were. I just know how some people will view it. I suppose I should have used the photo and not even mentioned it myself when I think back..but hindsight is a wonderful thing! ;o)

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

