Journal 52 – Collage Crazy

IMG_3717Week 16’s prompt over at Journal 52 is Collage Crazy. I’ve taken that literally! For this page I’ve used a set of collage prints from a new resource book I’ve bought that includes a CD-ROM of hi-res images. I’ve printed each image out using a laser printer then cut each one out by hand…no scanning and cutting for me!

IMG_3718I’ve a had a lot of fun playing with these images on other projects too, but thought I’d could create a fun page for this weeks prompt! So here’s my process video, as always I hope you enjoy it!

Remember if  you like the video, please give it a”thumbs up” and “subscribe” to my YouTube channel and if you’ve never visited the Journal 52 website just click here.

Have a creative day!

Mike

3 thoughts on “Journal 52 – Collage Crazy

  1. ros mcp says:

    Hi Mike, confession time, some people binge watch TV shows, I’ve been binge watching your videos
    May I introduce myself? I’m Rosalind, Geordie born but have lived in New Jersey USA for 8 years. I’ve dabbled with paper crafts on and off for years, got quite a stash of products that we won’t mention to my husband lol. I recently had a change in life and as Winter approaches I was looking for a new craft, came across art journaling and there you were. I’m learning so much but I know what I’ll do, I will get engrossed in other peoples work and put myself off trying. So today I went to Michaels craft store, got some gesso and matte medium, cheap acrylic tubes and tonight I’m going to do a page.
    I’m systematically going through your brilliant site (which is why my comment falls on this date) so forgive me if you have, do you have a list or video of all the products you use and why? I know some products come n go, some become favorites and others get lost in a drawer, but what are your main, I really must always have xyz products? I got a bit lost in the store today, the Tim Holtz section was pretty bare and there wasn’t much Ranger stuff. Think it will be an online jobbie if I know what to look for.
    Thank you for your time in making the films I know it will take a lot and I personally appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike says:

      Hi Rosalind, that’s a real difficult question. I use a variety of different paint brands, none of which are expensive. I use my NeocolorII crayons all the time, I use gel medium, doesn’t matter what brand and Inuse White and black gesso again no particular brand. The rest is whatever I have lying around, stencils, magazines and stamps.. That’s pretty much it.. But well done to you for taking the plunge.. You won’t regret it! XO

      Like

  2. forwhomthegearturns says:

    Great tutorial! I was thinking about getting the Steampunk Sourcebook myself, it seems like a great resource. I have also picked up some great discounted digital resources over at inkydeals.com, like vintage image paintbrushes for photoshop and cool texture vectors. I am also a huge fan of paper and collage and I have been experimenting in recent years with crafting 3Dish paper elements as centerpieces for my steampunk-meets-art-deco shadow boxes. Here’s a link if you want to check it out 🙂 http://forwhomthegearturns.com/original-artwork/.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

