#3/100 Artworks – Babyface

baby

No 3 in my 100 artworks series, this time my aim was to create a chubby faced clown like character. This time instead of using a normal HB pencil to draw my shape and outline I’ve used a light blue pencil so that the lines disappear more easily once painted over.

The thing I’m beginning to realise about my painting ability is that I haven’t got one. I tend to try and colour with paint rather than paint with colour. I suppose it’s years of using alcohol pens like Promarkers and Copics. I have a tendency to try and blend the paints in the same way in which I can for the pens.

It doesn’t work in the same way. Which means I have to try and learn how to paint and blend the acrylic paints more effectively.

More research needed methinks….off to YouTube!

If you want to know more about the #100 Artwork Challenge, you can find all the details about the challenge HERE.

Here’s my video for No3/100.

4 thoughts on “#3/100 Artworks – Babyface

  1. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    I think it sounds like you and I have the same challenge with painting acrylic. We have a mental block because of our experience of using other media that work differently. I think you’ve done a great job of creating skin tones. I look forward to seeing your paintings develop further.

    Like

I'd love to read your comments...

