Journal 52 – Inspiration Board

IMG_3546

It’s week 12 over at Journal 52 and the prompt this week is “Inspiration Board”. I had a real hard time trying to figure out what really gives me inspiration for my art journal pages and for my mixed media art.

I couldn’t really put my finger on anything tangible. My inspiration comes from what I see around me and what I see on YouTube and the many blogs that I follow. Most importantly of all my inspiration comes through what I’m creating.

My inspiration flows from how the colours and shapes on my pages look and make me feel, it’s more of an instinctive reaction than anything concrete. I may have a theme or a quote to work to, but how the page looks in the end will ultimately be decided on which direction the medium that I’m using sits on the page.

The art creates itself.

So here’s my page…and the full video start to finish.

Remember if  you like the video, please give it a”thumbs up” and subscribe to my YouTube channel.

Have a creative day!
Mike

4 thoughts on “Journal 52 – Inspiration Board

  1. Shel C says:

    Thanks for the inspiration:) I am feeling BLAH this week and have not even picked up my journals. Clicking through what others did for Journal52 to see if it gives me a kick start. The dripping through the texture paste was so soothing to watch. Perhaps I will give it a go and see where it takes me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike says:

      We all have days or weeks like that Shel…art journaling, crafts and blogs are so forgiving..and relaxing too, glad you enjoyed the video and maybe got a little inspired by it!

      Like

  2. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    I love splatters and drips so I really like what you did with this journal spread. I agree that the black and white added punch and I also agree with the quotation. That’s something art journaling is doing for my art – letting me appreciate chaos and mistakes.

    Like

    • Mike says:

      Art Journaling has taught me one valuable lesson…to let go! To let the art do what it wants is a loss of control which I find quite liberating. If it goes wrong, it’s not my fault it’s the art!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to read your comments...

