Journal 52 – Just Write – Big Yellow Taxi

IMG_3519Week 11 on Journal 52 is “Just Write”. This week Chelle says:

“make the focus of your page the writing. Don’t worry about perfect handwriting or what you write about – just write!

If you’re stuck on what to write, use a favorite quote, poem, song lyrics or a favorite story as inspiration.”

So, my inspiration for this week’s page is one of my all time favourite songs. Big Yellow Taxi by Joni Mitchell. The idea to write the whole lyrics inside the shape of a big yellow taxi really got my creative juices flowing.

Using song lyrics is such a perfect way to kick start a journal page as there are so many songs that speak directly to your soul. They sometimes seem to bypass the normal senses and spear your inner being with whatever it is you’re feeling at the time.

This song for me is no exception. I speaks to me on so many different levels and even now so many years after I first heard the song I never get tired of hearing Joni’s original or any of the many covers of this song that have been made.

So once again I’ve captured my process on film and hope you enjoy watching my page unfold before your eyes. If you want to take part in the weekly art journal workshop over on Journal52 simply click here!

Remember if  you like the video, please give it a”thumbs up” and subscribe to my YouTube channel.

Have a creative day!

Mike

4 thoughts on “Journal 52 – Just Write – Big Yellow Taxi

I'd love to read your comments...

