Mothering Sunday

IMG_3507

Tomorrow is Mothering Sunday or Mother’s Day here in the UK. I’ve been at home all week with a nasty ear infection that has affected my balance so have stayed away from work.

It’s given me some time to get ahead of myself with some new pages and projects but also enabled me to spend some time to create a card for my mother.

It’s a simple 6″x 6″ top folding card, layered with a distress ink edged backing paper and layered with lace. I’ve then die cut a “Mother” sentiment topper (typography designed by myself) with a “Joy Crafts Frame Square” metal die.

After die cutting using my Big Shot, I left the topper in the die and ran some pink ink over the exposed sections.

Once I was happy with the intensity of the pink, I popped it out of the die and added a little touch of distress ink to tie it in with the backing papers and glued it to my card front using 3D gel to hold through the lace.

I then added some mulberry paper flowers and silk leaves to the frame. I didn’t want to go over the top by adding pearls and gems as I know my Mother doesn’t really go in for bling, but I know she’ll appreciate the simplicity and femininity of this card.

I just have to get it to her in time for tomorrow, or I may just give her a surprise visit!

2 thoughts on “Mothering Sunday

I'd love to read your comments...

