Mixed Media Canvas – Untitled

IMG_3463

I don’t normally have a go at mixed media canvases, I always wonder what to do with them once they’re finished, but this one I have a home for. Purple is my sister’s favourite colour, so I think I’ll send it to her in the post.

It’s an 8″x8″ box canvas, prepped with gesso then painted with IndigoBlu acrylic paints (Park Lane). I added washes of white (Pantry White) and gold (Goldfinger) acrylic paints. I then used the gold Studio 490 texture paste through a TCW (Microbial) stencil.

Then I stamped with gold acrylic paint using the Limor Webber design “Rugged Edges” and “Splattered Butterfly” stamp. I also painted a couple of scraps of watercolour card with the Park lane paint and stamped the “Splattered Butterfly” with gold paint. I then cut the two butterflies out and edged with gold paint using a small piece of sponge to hide the raw edges. I then stuck these onto my canvas.IMG_3466

I painted pieces of watercolour card with the three colours, then cut them into strips and distressed the edges. I then added some of the gold paint to hide the white raw edges of the strips. I then glued these down in horizontal and vertical positions starting from the left side and worked my way across to the right.

I then glued various elements to the front of the canvas from my bits n bobs tub, which is filled with charms, buttons, screws, nuts, bolts, findings and a few left over idea-ology bits. I also found some small mosaic glitter tiles so added these too. I also added three foam roses and gave the edges a little wash over with the purple paint to tone them in.IMG_3467I then gave each of them a wash over with gesso and dry brushed them with the Park Lane paint once dry. I heat set the colour, then dry brushed again with the gold to catch the edges of the elements.

IMG_3465IMG_3464

The whole thing only took about and hour and a quarter from start to finish. It’s why I love using acrylic paints as they dry so fast and allow you to create while you’re still in the zone! Drying at the speed of creativity!

I think my sister will like this canvas. She’s quite artsy-crafty too so I’m sure she’ll get a kick out of it.

I'd love to read your comments...

