Mixed Media Tag – Art

IMG_3439

Another practice tag, this time I dusted off my IndigoBlu flitter glue and gilding flakes. I haven’t used them much since buying them last year so thought it would be a good thing to have a play and practice the “art” of using them.

My base tag is a Ranger No8 manilla tag, given two coats of Black Soot Distress Paint, heat set for speed (I’m impatient). Then using Splattered Heart and Limor Circles stamp sets from IndigoBlu designed by Limor Webber, stamped using the flitter glue. I then left to settle for 10 mins while I made fresh coffee.

splattered-heart-limor-webber-signature-range-a6-red-rubber-stamp-p1205-1337_zoomlimor-circles-a5-red-rubber-stamp-part-of-the-limor-webber-signature-range-by-indigoblu-p1210-1347_zoom

Once the coffee was ready, I covered the circle stamped areas with Winter Dawn gilding flakes, then covered the splattered heart area with Yorkshire Dales gilding flakes and burnished them with my finger. Once I was happy that I’d covered all the areas, gave them a rub over with the sponge skoochie. The skoochie is a rough sponge square (approx 2″ x2″) which removes all excess flake from your image, in essence cleaning it away leaving the flake stuck to the stamped image only.

IMG_3441 IMG_3443

I then covered 3 chipboard letters spelling out “ART” with the flitter glue and added Winter Dawn flake over those and repeated the skoochie technique once dry. I then added a silver filigree corner, some alcohol inks across the top to drip down and heat set. Finally I added some linen ribbon to the top of my tag.

Considering I’ve never used the gilding flakes before, but have co presented with Jenny Marples of the IndigoBlu Demo Team whilst filming 3 hours of tutorial for the http://www.britishcraftnetwork.tv website, I’m surprised I picked up as much as I did through osmosis!

If you’re interested in watching one of the shows, see below.

I'd love to read your comments...

