A little bit Mad…

Another page in my Dylusions A4 Journal. This time I’ve gone MAD with the purple paints and Dylusions sprays.

I’m not used to creating such free form projects, all my usual design work is clipped and confined and very tidy. Art Journaling isn’t like that at all and I find the freedom to throw colour around and be messy quite daunting sometimes. It certainly is a cathartic exercise!

So here’s the how to for this page.

Pages were covered with gesso to start, then liberally covered the pages with purple acrylic paint, sprayed with Crushed Grape Dylusions ink spray. I them moved the paint and ink around with a baby wipe until I had a coverage that I was happy with.

I stamped some ornate corners using the Time Holtz Stampers Annonymous Classics 7 stamp set with black Stayzon.

Cut out the Alice in Wonderland images from a computer print I’d done. The images are free and available on the web! Printed my quote, which is slightly amended from the one in the books, which originally said “You must be mad or you wouldn’t have come here” so only a slight change!

Torn the quote out and stuck it to the page using Modge Podge. Also stuck the Alice & Cheshire cat images with the same and coloured once dry with Pitt Pens.

The Faber Castell Pitt Big Brush pens are fantastic as they are India ink, which stays blendable whilst wet, but once it dries it’s completely permanent. I love them! They’re perfect for art journalling as they also colour over non porous surfaces like the dried Modge Podge.

I added two dragonflies with texture paste using an inexpensive stencil picked up at a local craft fair and coloured them when dry with grape metallic Gelatos.

To finish I doodled some borders and edges with a black Big Brush Pitt pen and a white Posca poster paint pen. The final touch was some splatters with watered down gesso.

I'd love to read your comments...

